Showing posts with label food related (semi or otherwise). Show all posts
Showing posts with label food related (semi or otherwise). Show all posts

Friday, June 25, 2010

Mga tala sa pagluluto (Cooking ng ina mo)

Palagay ko, in our more recent times, may dalawang bagay na uso sa mga Pinoy, under the 'hobby category'. Yun ay ang 'semi-professional kuno' photography at cooking (ay culinary arts pala).

Dati kasi ang ultimate jaforms accessory ay ang telepono. Well thats so 2000. Kasi napalitan na nitong bagay na maitim, mabigat at mejo maasim (ang strap) na tinatawag na DSLRs. Uso na ang photoshoot parties. May mga kilala akong hindi na makakain ng maayos at araw araw, para lang makabili ng lente at flash at kung anu ano pa.

Ngayon, ang 'culinary arts' ang talagang pakay nitong post na ito, kaya hihinto na ako (dearest Lord, ayaw ko ng DSLR. Gusto ko ng Leica. Kahit anong Leica. basta Leica) on grappling with semi-professional photography (aka mediocre, pero okay lang nde naman ako professional eh). (Pektyur: Paella Mixto. Paborito ni Chet)

Sunday, June 21, 2009

Turon

Nagluto ako ng turon for breakfast today. or brunch. depends on how you see it.
May lakad kami nang hapon, at syempre kailangang tumawag ang landlord namin an hour and a half before, to inform us that he's sending someone to get our exisiting dining set and sofa #2. Yeh, matagal na namin kasing hinihingi na kung di naman nya mapapalitan yung dining set ng mas maayos, tanggalin nalang nya yung dining set nya, nang di namin sya sisihin pag may isa sa aming bumula ang bibig sa tetano. Pinakuha narin namin yung sofa set nung may-ari, kasi meron naman kaming isa pa, yung puti (yellowed. hehe) na sofa na minana ko pa sa aking pagkadalaga (naaks, as if matagal na yun eh noh). Umalis kami ni Jay ng bahay chuckling on our way out, 'Baka pag pumasok sina Chet memya, mag panic yon-- 'Nalooban tayo!''. Haha.

Hemingweys--mabalik tayo sa turon. Big deal ito sa amin kasi dito, hindi nabibili ang turon sa kalye, at kung kelan mo lang mapag tripan. Isang buwan ko naring pinag iisipang mabuti itong turon project na ito, at minsan ay minumuni-muni ko pa kung paano ito gagawin. Kaya mega feeling accomplished ako kanina habang isinasabay kong kainin ito with mah coffee. Eto ang kung paano ko ito ginawa:

Turon (banana fritters, Filipino style) for the grocery goer:
Note: nilagay kong grocery goer, kasi hindi lahat tayo ay biniyayaan ng palengke na malapit lang sa atin.

-10 pieces banana, either 'saba' or 'lakatan' (NOTE: since I dont frequent wet markets, where I could buy the saba variety, I used Lakatan instead), peeled and halved (vertically and horizontally)
-1 cup jackfruit (nangka), ready to serve and shredded vertically (into strips) (NOTE: you can buy those canned jackfruits nalang. nakakaloka naman kung di mo mood pagpaka-piyesta, and you end up with jackfruit to last you for 2 months)
-1/2 cup brown sugar, leveled on a flat serving plate
-lumpia wrapper (spring roll wrapper, with or without egg)

1. Look for a frying pan deep enough for semi-deep frying. Start heating pan with oil enough to cover half the bananas.
2. see if your bananas are moist. if not, get them a bit wet by sprinkling water on each.
3. sugar- roll each moist banana to preferred coating (thin coat lang sana, diba)
4. place the rolled banana in the middle of the lumpia wrapper
5. accompany it with few strands of jackfruit.
6. finish up rolling the wrapper, with both ends tapered just nice--not closed, just together in the middle for both ends.
7. once the frying pan is hot enough, dip the fritters and cook for 5 minutes on both sides.
8. use a steel colander to stack the fried fritters vertically (and to hopefully--get rid of the excess oil).
9. let them cool for some time. Mainit yan, pramis.


enjoy! serves 4 hungry people. several times. :)

Friday, April 18, 2008

Random (again)

A colleague of mine retorted: ‘Well, Im not really channelling ‘Chubby Huggy’ or anything. I just felt like Im a foodie these day?
Me: Im sorry?
Colleague: Chubby Huggy lah. You know him right?
Sino si Chuggy Huggy?? Napadami lang kaya sya ng kain nang wages??

Ah. Chubby Hubby.


---0---

Patawa 101:
You were almost done with a juicy blog entry when the object of your ‘kwento’ gives your phone a ring, in pronto. You almost jumped up from your seat, and with sweaty hands you try to make pleasant conversation. Afterwards, you’re just so paranoid, you decided not to post the juicy bit of story. Not now. Not yet.



---0---



Food Review#1: Olio Dome's Capellini Miso Salmon Fillet Pasta

Where: Holland V. When: 15 April, 8ish pm.

Place: was okay. very few people (ugh. tell tale signs)

Service: was quite good. tin and I were seated further back, so whenever we wanted to ask for something, I had to wave, like crazy.

Ordered: the Thai Chicken Salad chorva for aperitifs, then the said main course, becuase--well, its their 'chef's recommendation' (so said the menu)

Servings: As looks can be decieving, it looked small. But I can't seem to finish mine. Why? becuase...

Taste: Its sweet. yes, like dessert! I can't believe it--I know it is a 'somewhat glamorised' Carbonara with Salmon and caviar, but I ve tasted other versions before. I like Carbonara as much as Putanesca, but this is too much. Instead of eating the thing to the last pasta becuase it tasted good, we finished it becuase we didn't want to waste. The Salmon was ok--not that compensating. Frankly, it was an all-in-one meal: main course and dessert. Ugh.

Verdict: Nah--not for us probably. Not coming back. Sorry.
pic (inset): tintin, before learning the sad truth.

Sunday, December 16, 2007

Pulutan palang, ulam na*

tonight's dinner menu
the sisig--eherm, with egg of course, is brought to you by
yours truly, Junee Bee. :)

now, the kinilaw was brought to you by--urm...some party people. hehe (tapaw po ito. thats Singlish for 'take away'--oh..thats another Singlish)

* sigh..for the sake of those who cant understand tagalog: 'where you can eat your beermatch/ bites for supper' (its supposed to be a funny tagalog figure of speech)

Tuesday, November 6, 2007

Egad, ze chef!

For some reason, I feel very proud of this baon of mine,
which I cooked, by the way. Beef chips with asparagus and leeks
rehashed in olive oil and a bt of garlic
didn't expect na masarap kse sya
orgasmic in every bite
perhaps it helped that the beef was of this expensive sort (not kobe, the other on..anu ba yun?)
cooked it right away.
So, ayun.
yun lang.

Friday, October 26, 2007

Distractions

1) My all time favourite dessert
2) da freshness comes in yellow (and sauce)
3) happy birthday 4) comfort food

Bex...you deserve to be happy.
Very happy.
Now get your butt off, and paarteehhyy.

Sunday, October 21, 2007

thank God for pritong talong

this made my night. there's something very gratifying to a simple tasting food matched with a semi complex sauce. to cut the crap, masarap ang pritong talong kapag may sawsawang toyo with calamansi. oh, by the way, that eggplant has been vegetating (pun intended) for some time sa fridge namin. that, and chet's pechay. they've basically set up a community there (yes, im referring to the veggies)--raised kids and grown old. Puno na nga yung pechay eh. But of course you've never met the veteran pork giniling--andun parin sya. May mga anak na nga, mga baby giniling na kaka-kyut.